Album

No.8 – The Clash, ‘London Calling’

Oh, I am loving this.

Despite being a hella, ultra punk teenager, ‘London Calling’ has somehow escaped my musical grasp for a really long time – it’s just one of those that I never quite got round to listening to.

Hats off to this challenge for finally getting me there. This album rules.

I don’t need to talk about all the subsequent artists who this has obviously influenced, because it’s quite clear that this was not just a seminal punk album but a seminal mainstream rock one too. Strummer’s disaffected drawl, the band’s uninhibited energy, the whistleable riffs and hooks – it’s doing something special. I love it.

When to listen to it: In the pub after a jolly good protest somewhere outside Downing Street.

Verdict: What can I say? It’s great. It’s worked hard over the years. It’s still exciting after four whole decades.

8/10

Leave a Reply

