Album

No.17 – Nirvana, ‘Nevermind’

When it comes to ‘Nevermind’, I’m afraid I am extremely biased: this was the album that got me into rock music.

At the age of 13, I watched the video for ‘Smells Like Teen Spirit’ on Kerrang channel, all the way through for the first time, and something really clicked. Cut to me a few nights later, listening to my dad’s copy of ‘Nevermind’ on my personal CD player and drinking in every note. It felt phenomenal. It felt like how rock music was supposed to sound like – not like Avril Lavigne or Michelle Branch and all the other crap I’d be contenting myself with. Nirvana sounded like a real band making music that I’d never heard before, that broke boundaries I didn’t even know existed while still giving me something I could sing along too. I came into school the following few weeks just raving about Kurt Cobain, making copies of this album to throw at all my friends.

So, I don’t really feel I can judge this album properly at the age of 26. I still adore it on a very personal level – and the music is amazing regardless. ‘Smells Like Teen Spirit’ packs a muddy punch, ‘Polly’ haunts, ‘Drain You’ drips with sleaze. It’s an album worth discovering and re-discovering at any age.

When to listen to it: When you don’t want to tidy your room or be a responsible adult.

Verdict: I’ve fallen back in disgusting, grungey love.

9/10

Leave a Reply

